A Small Arc in the Circle of Healing

(Note: I have changed things so that questions will stop smushing up against the previous answer several times. It keeps changing back. I gave up. If you see things listed that way, that’s why.)

Fannon, of Dwarven Battle Medic, has said on Twitter that he’d like to see my answers to the Webring of Healings questionnaire. I’m not sure if this is in spite of the fact that all I have is a lower level point of view, or because of it.

Before I start giving lowbie answers to questions I may not really be qualified to answer, I want to apologize for the lack of posts lately. Real Life is throwing fires out left and right, and I am working really hard not to stand in them. I thought we had beat a RL Raid Boss, but it turned out that was just one phase of the fight we made it through. Then it started spawning adds. Some of this has affected my desire to heal lately, and it’s definitely been eating up time I could spend on writing about Brann Bronzebeard or YETIMUS! Those posts aren’t forgotten… they’re tucked away in the “I’m Going to Write This, I Swear!” file. But the next thing you’ll see from me is probably going to be about the WoW Ironman Chellenge. I’m going to give that a shot just as soon as I decide between a hunter or druid. I know it’s a worgen, either way. (Effers, I’ll still be an Azuremyst. I will miss the gchat. :( I’ll pop in and pickpocket all of you play my rogue a while when I miss you too much.)

Okay! On to the healing questions…

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer?

I really think of both Glorwynn and Muchao as my “main healers”. Both are Holy Paladins. Glorwynn is a dwarf, and Muchao is a Tauren… so it’s a faction thing.
What is your primary group healing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)

Low level dungeons. The highest level instance I’ve healed is either Scholomance or Zul’Farrak. I’m not really sure which of those you can queue for first.
What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why?

Of the abilities I have, my favorite would be Holy Light. When I get a feel for how the tank takes damage, it’s kind of peaceful to keep casting it and have the cast finish just as the tank has lost enough health for it to be the perfect heal. And it’s mana efficient.

 

What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?

Word of Glory. I get my three charges of Holy Power, but by that point it’s just not the best heal for me to use. I end up keeping it as an emergency button in case I go OOM, and then it usually ends up being used at the end to top off a dps or a warlock’s imp.
What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why?

We aren’t squishy. I’ve been in plenty of dungeons as dps where the healer dies and then it’s just a matter of time before everyone is dead. If something goes wrong in there, I’m not so afraid of having a mob on me for a few seconds as a paladin. I know what to do when it happens, and I have time to get the mob back to the tank while I keep them alive.
In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you?

My hope is to do a raid someday as a tank healer. I see a lot of people lament the lack of AoE healing for Holy Paladins, but I see it as being designed for a job that doesn’t require AoE healing. I’m not good at keeping up with a lot of things going on at one time, but I could use my single-target healing to make sure tanks are taken care of.
What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?

Definitely Holy Paladins! The abilities feel very natural for me. I have to pay attention to what’s going on, but I don’t feel like I’m fretting over which heal to use. I feel very comfortable with the abilities and find the role to be very peaceful. I’m not very good at handling a shaman or a druid. My fear of squishyness makes it seem like a disc priest would be good for me, but I tried that before I tried a paladin and felt like I handled the abilities in a really clumsy way. I’m also more of a mindset for healing damage that has been done, rather than preventing damage that might be done. My priest respecced herself to Shadow when I wasn’t looking.
What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why?

That probably would have been shaman if I’d made it to the point of doing any real healing. I just don’t handle the class well, and I don’t see how it could have been anything other than painful and frustrating for me.
What is your worst habit as a healer?

Throwing out a Holy Shock too early to start getting charges of Holy Power. I end up having more threat than necessary that early in a fight.
Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing?

I think Holy Paladins aren’t really meant to do the same type of healing that shaman, druids, or disc priests do. I don’t know enough about Holy Priests to compare the two. From what I have seen, I don’t really feel like there’s a problem with how Holy Paladins are designed or balanced. I think they don’t match up very well when people expect them to be capable of doing what other classes do, though. If you choose a hammer as a tool, it doesn’t make much sense to complain about it not being a screwdriver. If you want a screwdriver, choose that.
What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer?

I look at what happened. Did anyone die? Who was it, and why did they die? Even if no one died, how difficult was it for me to keep everyone alive? Was I struggling against what they did, or against the mechanics of the fight? Why was I struggling? Did I choose the wrong heals? Was I overhealing people when there was no reason to? Was I not healing enough and then having to spam Flash of Light?
What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class?

That it’s impossibly slow to quest as a Holy Paladin. The changes to the talent trees and the way questing works have done a LOT to improve that, and having the guild benefits for XP and professions like mining and herbalism giving XP also helps. A Holy Paladin will kill mobs a little slower than a ret pally, but they are also practically immortal even when there’s a string of mobs piling on them. (Corin’s Crossing in the Plaguelands can still be a problem with a bad pull, but a Holy Pally can take it!)
What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?

Where in the Twisting Nether their intellect mail/plate/shields/maces are supposed to come from!
If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?

I’m really not sure. I used skada when I was doing dungeons in Wrath as a hunter, and the numbers really became a problem for me. I let it get to me when everyone I came across seemed to think only the numbers mattered, and it was frustrating for me to know I was doing perfectly viable damage but also playing my class well, yet seen as a failure for not having higher numbers. The only way I could have gotten my numbers higher would have been to take a spec I was not comfortable with and start doing stupid things to pad the meters. AsĀ  healer, I haven’t gotten to a point yet where seeing the numbers matters. I can still evaluate my performance with common-sense observations of what happened and why. So I have no idea what something like that would show because I’m not looking anymore.
Haste or Crit and why?

At the levels my Paladins are at, I take crit when I can. I have ways of increasing my haste temporarily if I need to, and I’m always throwing out my Judgement to get the haste buff from that. I don’t have so many options for crit, though.
What healing class do you feel you understand least?

I have such a poor grasp of shaman, but at least I’ve tried that. Holy Priests… how do they work?
What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?

VuhDo and Fannon’s Judgement macro.
Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?

Where I am, Intellect is what matters most. We’ll see how that does or does not change in time.

Since Fannon said something about how we can’t all keep tagging Oestrus for this, I said I would just to show that we CAN! But I’d also like to see what Apple has to say about Holy Paladin healing, and the rules say to tag someone who heals with a different class… so Rhii is it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Small Arc in the Circle of Healing

  1. Fannon says:

    I loved your post, Glorwynn! Thanks for taking up the challenge!

    The thing I love about memes like this is that you get to hear from so many different people all with completely divergent perspectives about each of the different healing classes. I figured that there would be plenty of people commenting on level 85 Paladins, but I knew that your perspective would be, as it always is, utterly unique.

  2. Oh, Fannon beat me to it!
    No-one has tagged me yet, but I’ve got a post about this questionnaire sitting in draft, and you were the top person on my list of people to tag because I wanted to see your leveling healer’s perspective on it.
    I’ve been leveling a Paladin as Holy through LFD recently, and I see from your answers that the way you play your low-level Paladins and the way I play mine are quite different. Not in a bad way, of course, just in an “oh, that’s interesting, I hadn’t thought of that, what can I learn from that?” way. :D

    • I shall now ninja-tag you! If Fannon tagged me through Twitter, I can tag you through my own comments. And since you’re leveling through LFD ,while I’m leveling mostly thtorugh questing with some now-and-then dungeon diving, I’d imagine we do have very different experiences.

  3. Saunder says:

    Thanks Glorwynn, I have added your’s to the every-growing list of bloggers who have responded :)

  4. Pingback: Circle of Healers, round two « Kamalia et alia

Comments are closed.